Graduation thoughts and the future

IMG_0064Graduation speeches are often designed to give appreciation, encouragement, provoke thought, and give helpful life advise.  Some are well done and others are, well, kind of like, “Lets get this thing over”.

The main speech at our local High School was exceptional this year and did all of the above and more.  It was inspiring in many ways and certainly got me to thinking.  However, I began thinking about things that the speaker probably did not intend for me to think.

The speech got me thinking about promises because the speaker made a promise to the graduates that he would come to their 10 year  reunion if they invited him.  I don’t think there would be a question of his being invited but a question of whether he would physically be able to keep his promise.  None of us knows the future.  I hope and pray that this well-beloved and well-intentioned teacher, who is battling cancer, will be able to keep his promise.  However, as Scripture says, “There is a time to be born and a time to die.”    None of us really knows when our time on earth will end and we will  appear before our Creator.

The Lord began to apply this to my life as I heard His small still voice say, “Mark, how often do you presume on the future?”   I will have to admit, “Way to often!”   How about you?    Will you pray with me?  “O Lord, please help me to die to my prideful  self-delusions and always acknowledge you as being sovereign over the affairs of my life.”

Scripture for meditation:

Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring. Proverbs 27:1

Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”– yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes.  Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” As it is, you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil.  So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.   James 4:13-17

And just as it is appointed for man to die once, and after that comes judgment,  so Christ, having been offered once to bear the sins of many, will appear a second time, not to deal with sin but to save those who are eagerly waiting for him.   Hebrews 9:26-27

 

 

2 responses to “Graduation thoughts and the future

  1. Mark, it sounds like you were touched by Steve’s speech. I was there watching my a daughter graduate from high school. It was a tender ceremony for my heart as my third and final time to be a parent in the bleachers. I was so honored to hear the speech and found that his presentation brought me to tears a few times. Like you, I thought deeply about the promise to be present in 10 years. Perhaps the most profound part of the speech for me was the recognition of how facing death changes the living. I heard that beloved man testify to the need for all humans to stop and think, to take a moment and to love our neighbors as ourselves even if they are not like ourselves. I wondered how his words will resonate in the hearts or our graduates over the next decade, and then I realized that he will be at the reunion, no matter if it is in life or in memory. These kids have been sent out the door with a strong and powerful message. Steve will be with them in ten years in ways we may never understand. God’s blessing to you on this Memorial Day. Thank you for sharing your beautiful words and thoughts.

    • Yes and thank you for your thoughtful comments. It is so true that he will be with them either way. That thought is an encouragement and a challenge to be the example I should be to my own grandchildren and all the students I have while subbing at BCHS.

Leave a Reply

