Psalm 17 – Satisfaction

IMG_9195editedWhere do you find your most satisfaction in life?

I like ice cream and basketball and seem to always watch college ball during March Madness, but I soon find that I’m satiated quickly.  It seems to me that all the things of this world, with all of their appeal and glory, after awhile leave me unsatisfied and really empty.   Have you had this experience?  If so, have you pondered the question of why?

In the book of Ecclesiastes Solomon ponders such questions and answers in various ways.  However, the answer that touched my heart this past week, as I remembered the life of a man who influenced me for God,  is a phrase from chapter 3 that says, “[God] has put eternity into man’s heart.”   Although there are many things in our lives on earth that bring satisfaction, apart from God and eternity it is all vain.  There is more to life then meets the eye!

In Psalm 16 and 17 David is struggling with the trials of living in a world of evil and he comes to a conclusion of where he finds true and lasting satisfaction and joy .  The Psalms close with these words, that echo in my own heart, which contain a longing for eternity in God’s presence:

As for me,
I shall behold your face in righteousness;
when I awake,
I shall be satisfied with your likeness.
Psalm 17:15

For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol,
or let your holy one see corruption.
You make known to me the path of life;
in your presence there is fullness of joy;
at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.
Psalm 16:10-11

2 responses to “Psalm 17 – Satisfaction

  1. hi Mark, I needed this today. THANK YOU!!! your writings bless many! Gayle

    Gayle: Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. I love to share how God blesses me! Just passing on the blessings. Good to hear from you Gayle and hope you will visit us the next time you make it back to Montana.

Leave a Reply

